Halloween - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Halloween Reviews

Page 1 of 73
November 16, 2018
Fantastic movie! Great to see Michael Myers going back to his roots!
½ November 16, 2018
A solid slasher movie with great performances.
½ November 16, 2018
This film was a huge disappointment! I am a huge fan of the Halloween franchise and was very hopeful. Not only is it a disappointment Halloween 2 was a better film, and I'm not saying that was a great film either. H20 wasn't a spectacular film either but in comparison to this one it is holding up better. At least H20 had scares. This film missed the target! Not scary, doesn't seem like the writers/directers realize the best part of Halloween is the suspense of which this film had almost none. The cinema where i saw the film was filled with teenagers and what was supposed to be scary parts everybody was laughing. When the movie lulled on the chatter was constant. A decent thriller should have people on the edge of their seats not bored and talking. I hope to god they don't try to make a sequel to this abomination.
½ November 15, 2018
Sadly this movie did not live up to the original. Plot holes, predictable scenes, and rediculious twists simply to move the plot forward. This all coupled with bad execution of what could have been a great movie. Just because this franchise has history doesn't mean it will be good. And this movie was not good.
½ November 15, 2018
Definitely one of the better sequels to the original classic. That said, it suffers from a lack of atmosphere and tension, due mostly to editing and dramatic shifts in tone from serious to comedy, many times in the same scene and line of dialog. Ultimately the male characters are forgettable and clichs, bad ones at that. I would have rather they focused on the three main Strode women than wasting our time letting us know the male characters around them are fools. On the upshot, we get a Michael, both in mask and physical presence that is the best since Nick Castle and the original altered Shatner mask. Jamie Lee is wonderful and Carpenter's return to scoring the film is a triumph. It could have been better, but as is, one of the better sequels we have been given in the franchise.
November 15, 2018
Great movie, one of the best horror movies in years, trully lives up to the legacy of the series with few shortcomings. Blum House, like MCaine's, they've done it again!
November 15, 2018
A great new addition to the spooky franchise! Jamie Lee Curtis kicks butt
½ November 15, 2018
fór með Rebekku á hana í bíó 31 Okt 2018
½ November 15, 2018
dont like horor movies that much
½ November 15, 2018
Good movie, but I rather would watch Halloween H20.
November 14, 2018
This is the first movie I have ever walked out of after paying money to see it. Terrible acting. Jamie lee curtis should be ashamed of herself. The plot line was incredibly predictable, and after an hour of this torture of a film I had to just leave.
November 14, 2018
Lots of make-me-jump kind of startling scares like in early '80's horror films, not so much cheesy CGI-ish graphics. Pretty good scary movie!
November 14, 2018
Predictable, good performances, catchy.
½ November 14, 2018
Its ok, not the best, not the worst, cool movie tho.
November 14, 2018
A confident, muscular beast of a horror film that does the two things I require of a great horror film with ease: Make me care, and look good while doing it. And man does it deliver.
November 14, 2018
Maybe I'll be tracer, I'm already tracer. What about Widowmaker, I'm ready Widowmaker. I'll be bastion, Nerf bastion! You're right, so, Winston, I wanna be Winston. I guess I'll be genji, I'm already genji. Then I'll be McCree, I already chose McCree. I have an idea, what's your idea? WE SHOULD HAVE PICKED MERCY!!!!!
½ November 14, 2018
This was a TERRIBLE movie
½ November 14, 2018
Halloween (2018) is able to create its own atmosphere and tone, it does not have the feel of a generic reboot or just another sequel. The atmosphere resembles that of the 1978 classic, while making note of the societal changes that have occurred over the last 40 years. The strength of this film is the impending confrontation between Lauri Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) and her attacker/brother, Michael Myers. The supporting cast is adequate but they don't bring much substance to the story, and are mostly forgettable characters that are used as convenient plot devices and to fill the audience in with clunky exposition. Luckily, Curtis is still able to carry the bulk of the movie on her shoulders, as she resurrects the terrorized, yet strong lead character that made the original film such a classic. Michael Myers is more savage and barbaric in this film, aimlessly killing most anyone that crosses his path without a clear sense of rhyme or reason. Much like the original, the final act is the strongest and most intense part of the film, and the final result is mostly satisfying. Director David Gordon Green does not try to reinvent the wheel here, he provides us a basic, yet effective slasher movie that is able to stand on its own two feet the entire time. In my opinion, this is the best out of the Halloween sequels, and finishes a distant second to the original source material. I think most Halloween fans, as well as horror fans in general, will appreciate the effort made here to bring another classic Halloween film.
November 13, 2018
best movie of all time
November 13, 2018
The film started as a cheap horror flick. The film didn't start to get interesting up until Laurie Strode (Jamie le Curtis character) comes face to face with Michael .
Page 1 of 73