I Love You, America with Sarah Silverman: Season 1 Reviews

September 6, 2018
Silverman has tapped into a surprisingly vibrant strain of broadness at an otherwise disruptive time for television.
August 28, 2018
It's short, it's quick, it hits good beats... She's definitely coming in with a bang.
December 27, 2017
I Love You, America really comes alive when Silverman leaves the studio.
December 27, 2017
I'm glad Silverman has a venue for this because we should have a venue for this. The other political late night hosts can feel like they're preaching.
December 27, 2017
Some viewers will find these conversations galling and ill-considered; for those willing to stick around, however, I Love You, America is a fascinating, if occasionally challenging exploration of what, precisely, a streaming talk show can do.
December 27, 2017
But the strange cocktail of earnestness and sarcasm, sincerity and self-awareness, political commentary and dumb gags, is like nothing else on television or streaming.
December 27, 2017
In short, contemporary politics is all feeling; what it lacks is empathy. Thus, Silverman's task - to use the former as a vehicle for the latter - is a noble one. And she most certainly has her work cut out for her.
December 19, 2017
Instead, Sarah Silverman's going for something unique in the political commentary world: genuine compassion. And, with her interviews, she seems eager to prove that compassion is the only thing that can really make change.
October 24, 2017
Talk show offers hilarious, profane food for thought.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 16, 2017
In a world of unrelenting political hostility, I Love You, America rides the distinction between empathy and condescension as well as it hits the sweet spot between relevance and relief.
October 13, 2017
I Love You, America is trying to get us through something, offer some currency. The way Silverman's doing it just might take some getting used to.
October 13, 2017
Let's hope her show carries on this self-awareness and empathy which many people, not just white feminists, can enjoy and learn from.
October 13, 2017
If things get more complicated once we're past all the explaining and thesis statements, I Love You, America could be a great watch. As it stands now, it's just nice. That's fine-good, even.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 26, 2017
Shouldn't we have minimum expectations that the show can minimally fulfill its implied mandate by inspiring viewers to truly find common ground beyond a shared affection for scatological humor.